Sonata for Cello and Piano in F minor, B20

Opus number


Burghauser catalogue number


Date of composition

completed: 4 January 1871

Parts / movements

I. Allegro molto
II. Andante maestoso
III. Allegro molto

We are currently familiar only with a few thematic ideas from Dvořák’s Sonata for Cello and Piano in F minor, as presented in notated examples in Otakar Šourek’s biography of the composer. In 1951 Šourek had at least the cello part at his disposal (at that time in the possession of the composer’s heirs), but its whereabouts are now unknown. The piece had three movements linked together attacca: Allegro molto – Andante maestoso – Allegro molto. According to Dvořák’s notes at the end of the cello score, the work was completed on 4 January 1871.