Octet (Serenade), B36

Opus number


Burghauser catalogue number


Date of composition

completed: September 1873

The Octet for piano, two violins, viola, double bass, clarinet, bassoon and French horn was completed in September 1873. No information about the piece has survived, apart from a mention in Dalibor magazine, which states that the work “once again betrays in a most wondrous way the composer’s rare talent and uncommonly fertile mind”. Dvořák later destroyed the piece along with several others.