Two Waltzes, Op. 54, B105

Opus number


Burghauser catalogue number


Date of composition

9 December 1879 (revision: March 1880)

Premiere - date and place

private performance: December 1879 and January 1880, Prague
public performance: 29 March 1880, Prague

Premiere performer(s)

private performance: Nováček, Pečírka, Buchal, Šrámek (?)
public performance (orchestral setting of the strings): conductor Antonín Dvořák

First edition

Simrock, 1911, Berlin

Parts / movements

No. 1 A major (Moderato)
No. 2 D major (Allegro vivace)


approx. 7 min.

Dvořák arranged the first and fourth piece from his piano cycle Waltzes, Op. 54, for string quartet as well. For ease of performance the second of these was transposed from the original D flat major to D major. This quartet version of the work was only published after the composer’s death, in 1911.