Slavonic Dance No. 8 for Cello and Piano in G minor, op. 46/8, B172

Opus number


Burghauser catalogue number


Date of composition

27 December 1891

Premiere - date and place

8 January 1892, Chrudim

Premiere performer(s)

Hanuš Wihan, Antonín Dvořák

First edition

Editio Supraphon, 1973, Prague

Main key

G minor


approx. 4 min.

Dvořák’s own arrangement of No. 8 from the first series of Slavonic Dances, Op. 46, written for a concert tour before the composer’s departure for the United States.