Seven Pieces for Small Orchestra (Interludes), B15

Opus number

Burghauser catalogue number


Date of composition

12 January – 5 February 1867

Premiere - date and place

31 January 1991, London

Premiere performer(s)

New London Orchestra, conductor Ronald Carp

First edition

Editio Supraphon, 1989, Prague


1 flute, 1 oboe, 1 clarinet, 1 bassoon, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, timpani, violins, violas, cellos, double basses

Parts / movements

1. Capriccio (Allegro risouluto)
2. (Andante sostenuto)
3. Con molta espressione
4. Allegro con brio
5. (Allegro assai)
6. Serenade
7. Allegro animato


approx. 24 min.

Up until the beginning of the 1890s it was the custom at Provisional (and later also National) Theatre in Prague drama productions to play music during the interval written for a small ensemble of musicians. Apart from works by various foreign and domestic composers, Dvořák, viola player with the Provisional Theatre at the time, also contributed his music. Seven Pieces for Small Orchestra was discovered in 1951 in the estate of music publisher Mojmir Urbánek.