Quartet Movement in F major, B120

Opus number


Burghauser catalogue number


Date of composition

completed 9 Ocotber 1881

Premiere - date and place

29 April 1945, Prague (Czech Radio)

Premiere performer(s)

Ondricek Quartet (Richard Zika, Josef Peska, Vincenc Zahradnik, Bedrich Jaros)

First edition

Orbis, 1951, Prague


approx. 9 min.

Quartet Movement in F major was written as the first part of a planned string quartet commissioned by the chamber ensemble led by court Kapellmeister Joseph Hellmesberger. The movement appeared over the course of three days in October 1881, however, after completing the piece, Dvorak decided to put it to one side and began working on a new quartet (C major, Op. 61).