Moderato in A major, B116

Opus number

Burghauser catalogue number


Date of composition

3 February 1881

Premiere - date and place

(?) 19 September 2020, Prague

Premiere performer(s)

(?) Marek Kozák

First edition

Hudební matice Umělecké besedy, 1921, Prague

Parts / movements

one movement composition


approx. 2 min. 50 sec.

This piano piece incorporates the same thematic material as the first part of the cycle Legends, which originated at the same time. It was published in 1921 in a revision by Josef Suk and Václav Štěpán. The first known performance of the work did not take place until 19 September 2020 as part of the Dvořák Prague International Music Festival.