česky | English

piano pieces 

opus number
Burghauser catalogue number
June (?) 1880 
premiere - date and place
premiere - performer(s)
parts / movements
1. Impromptu. Presto
2. Intermezzo. Largetto
3. Gigue
4. Eclogue. Poco allegro
5. Allegro molto
6. Tempo di marcia 
approx. 19 min. 

After the huge success of the first series of Slavonic Dances for four-hand piano, publishers began urging Dvorak to write more piano pieces. In May 1880 London-based publishers Patey and Willis approached the composer to request a “series of piano pieces”. Dvorak accepted the commission and wrote a cycle of six piano pieces entitled Six Morceaux pour Pianoforte. The firm sent the manuscript back, however, stating that they were “not popular enough”. In the end the work was published by Leipzig-based firm Hofmeister, but Dvorak left out the final two parts (which were printed after his death) as he decided he now wanted a balanced series of four movements. The cycle is one of the most extensive and formally most elaborate of Dvorak’s piano compositions from the late 1870s and early 1880s.